Granted

Granted

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1
Young fairy Ophelia gets her first wish granting assignment and discovers that, although the fate of the fairy world rests on her completing her task, the job of granting a human's wish is anything but easy.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Walden Pond Press, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062643865
Characteristics: 325 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
AndLib1 Mar 22, 2019

Granted is a wonderful book for middle grade kids. Girls in particular, will relate to the main character of Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets, wish granting fairy. Anderson presents a 21st Fairy world without eliminating the magic and mystery of fairy lore.
Ophelia is on her first mission as a Granter. All she has to do is find the coin the girl wished on, sprinkle it with fairy dust, say the magic words, and then return home. Since Ophelia finished first in her class this should be easy, but the world outside “haven” is very different and can be dangerous to even a well-trained fairy.
As in Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, Anderson creates believable and loveable characters. Ophelia learns that sometimes one has to choose between two deserving people and the consequence of that choice. Making things right is not easy, but is worth the effort.
I would recommend this for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series, Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Night Fairy and Edward Eager’s Half Magic series, and of course, John David Anderson’s other books.

Chapel_Hill_MarthaW Dec 16, 2018

The best word to describe this is "cute", which I mean in the most non-condescending way possible. It's about a fairy who's been given the chance to grant her first wish, and of course it goes entirely awry from the very first moment. It's very sweet and sincere, without getting too overly sentimental for my taste, and the scenes involving a dog who talks, well, just how you would expect a dog to talk, are a hoot.

t
The_Zookeeper
May 27, 2018

This is a great spin on the folklore of fairies. I love that they go out and grant wishes to people that will never know how their wish was granted. I very fun book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
AndLib1 Mar 22, 2019

AndLib1 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 12

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top